The Twan and only

We have all seen Mr. Dollevoet during Calculus 2 or Mathematical Methods during our first year and we as Estimator had the honour to interview this famous man. Read all about him here!

1. What have you been doing before you became a teacher? And why did you decide to become a teacher?

I did my PhD in Econometrics and I also worked part time for the NS. Then I became a teacher, since I really like to do research and if you want to work at the university, you also need to teach. However, in the end teaching is quite fun.

2. What are your hobbies and interests, besides Econometrics?

Running and snowboarding.

3. What is your favourite meal?

The AC has asked me this question before, but then I actually gave the wrong answer, since my favourite meal is risotto with mushrooms, also called risotto funghi. Especially when it has parmesan cheese on top of it.

I really hate escalators that don’t work and automatic doors that open too late

4. What are you most proud of?

At academic level I am most proud of my first paper that was accepted. This was quite fun. It was about delay management, which is a topic in train scheduling. At non-academic level I am most proud of running the Bruggenloop in a good time (1:02:57).

5. What is your biggest annoyance?

I really hate escalators that don’t work and automatic doors that open too late. This happens to me every day. There is a door at the lowest level of the H-building and it opens too late, so you have to wait to enter. In academic level my biggest annoyance is students who do not prepare lectures or exams and then ask many questions.

6. If you still have one, what is your biggest dream?

That is a difficult question, but I would really like that all students prepare well for the lectures and especially the exams and that they are really enthusiastic.

7. Who is your true hero?

I do not have a really big hero, but I do admire Sifan Hassan, she is an Ethiopian-Dutch long distance runner and she can run really fast. And of course Shaun White, since he is a really good snowboarder.

8. What is your favourite shop?

I like the market (the one for the groceries) in general. The stand of mister Kappen at the Market in Den Bosch is my favourite.

9. Which country would you still like to visit?

Japan, because my girlfriend really wants to go there. We are going there in two weeks. Besides, it has a really nice train system.

10. What does a regular day of your life look like?

Well, I wake up and go to uni really early, at 6:15, and arrive at the university at 07:45. Then I work till 15:30 and I go home again. Then I usually go for a run, have dinner and just sit back.

11. What is something people don’t know about you?

I’m from Den Bosch and I celebrate carnaval. But now I need to teach on Monday, so it is not really possible any more unfortunately.

12. What is coolest thing you ever experienced?

Snowboarding through fresh powder snow in the sun with my friends.

13. Do you read Estimator? What do you think we should do that we don’t do yet?

I always read it when it was printed on paper. However, first I didn’t know of the website actually. Now I sometimes take a look on the website. I think you should promote it more among the staff members like the teachers, because I think many people do not know the Estimator is only available at the internet these days.

I really enjoy listening to après-ski songs

14. What would you like to improve in the ESE/Econometrics department?

I would try to spread the teaching more evenly over people within the ESE and over time. Now I have to teach very much and I am very busy all the time and at the end of the year I do not have anything to do anymore. Besides I would build more lecture rooms, so you would have more flexibility in scheduling all the lectures.

15. What is the strangest thing that has ever happened to you as a lecturer?

Not that many strange things have happened.

16. What is your guilty pleasure?

I really enjoy listening to après-ski songs.

17. If you could travel to any place in the world, where would you go?

I would like to go to South Africa. My family lives there and I haven’t seen them in a quite a long time.

About this article

Written by:
  • Maaike Niehof
| Published on: Apr 12, 2016