Welcommittee - Activities Committee

In this edition of the Welcommittees, we would like to introduce the Activities Committee to you! This committee will organise, as the name already hints, some very nice FAECTOR activities. Additionally, the AC will organise the amazing FAECTOR City Trip in March! 

Pieter van der Vleuten

'Though my sequence may be random, I am sure it will make you converge.'

Dear reader, 
My name is Pieter van der Vleuten. I am a 19-year-old, 2nd year International Bachelor Econometrics student originating from Sint-Oedenrode. My biggest obsession is sports, both watching and practising it. My favourite sport to practise is running, which turned out to be kind of addicting. Since I loved being a feut at FAECTOR last year, I joined Laurentius to enjoy the feutenlife all over again! Lastly, I want to take this opportunity to encourage all of you to listen to some tracks of the greatest singer the Netherlands has ever known; Ruth Jacott. Next to the fact that she is an outrageous singer, she leads the ranking of powerwomen by far, with Serena Williams and Frederique Ram sharing the second place.

The most embarrassing thing I have ever done, is taking a cab from Oostplein to my home (which isn’t even a five minute walk) and led the driver to my home via the Erasmusbrug (which is not on the fasted route as you can imagine).

Gaelle Rosette 

'How can I know so many hundreds of digits of pi and not the digits of your phone number?'

Salut, my name is Gaelle Rosette, I’m 21 and currently in my 2nd year International Bachelor Econometrics. I come from a tiny island in the Indian Ocean called Mauritius. Beaches, tropical weather, palm trees, amazing food - we have all of that. Moving to Rotterdam was one of the boldest decision I took; but I love my new life here. I like swimming, reading and playing with my dogs. I also enjoy spending time with friends and meeting new people.

My most embarrassing moment...I had a few of these in my life but I guess the most recent one was at the Cocktail Workshop of FAECTOR. Many shots and a strong punch got the best of me. I ended up in the bathroom throwing up everything while my best friend and a member of the board took care of me. Oh and of course this happened one week before my interview for the Committee; lost all credibility in front of the new board.

Julia van der Helm

'I don’t like my current girlfriend. Mind if I do a you-substitution?'

Hey everyone! My name is Julia van der Helm and I am currently in my second year of BSc2 Econometrics/Economics. I grew up internationally, however I consider myself to be from a small town, not very far from Rotterdam, called Bergschenhoek. My hobbies include: studying, studying, studying…. Ok all jokes aside, I really enjoy spending time with friends, whether it be cooking together, watching movies, or grabbing coffee at *wait for it* spar!

My most embarrassing moment has to do with my complete lack of direction. This was at the start of my studies in Rotterdam, when I didn’t really know how public transport worked… I got on a tram that was going the complete wrong direction. Rooky mistake.

Marissa Berghuis

'Are you a 30 degree angle? Because you’re acute-y.'

Hello people! I’m Marissa, 21 years old, and just started the Pre-Master in Econometrics. Before that, I studied the BSc IBA and MSc Finance & Investments at RSM. In my free time, you can find me running along the Maas, meeting my friends for dinner/drinks/parties, or chilling on the deck of my houseboat ;) I am super excited to get to know more econometrics students through FAECTOR and can’t wait to see you all at the activities that my committee will organize this year!

My most embarrassing moment would have to be when I moved to the USA when I was 11 years old and was carrying around a pencil pouch from the brand “pussy deluxe” that I bought at a Dutch store and didn’t yet realize what it meant in English…

Johannes Schurink

'If I asked you out, would your answer be the same as your answer to this question?'

Hi everyone,
I’m Johannes, 19 years old and currently a second year BSc2 Econometrics/Economics student. Originally I’m from Nijmegen, which is a city in the east of the Netherlands, close to the German border, but at the moment I’m living in Rotterdam. My free time consists mainly of running, playing football with friends or, like many of you, watching Netflix. Besides all that, I also enjoy playing the piano from time to time.

My most embarrassing moment is probably from when I was a kid and I followed somebody else’s granddad for about 20 minutes, because I thought he was my granddad.

Rosa ten Kate

'You must be the square root of two because I feel irrational around you.'

Hi guys! My name is Rosa and I’m 22 years old. After having spent my last three years as an active member, I’m glad I can say I am the Treasurer of the 53rd board! Basically, this means that I’m in charge of the money of the association. Besides being a board member, I like to travel, cook and go out for dinner and drinks with my friends. I spend most of my time in Rotterdam, but on the weekends you can usually find me in the always exciting city of Maassluis.

To be honest I cannot really come up with one specific embarrassing moment, but it’s safe to say that after a night of drinking I will most likely have done something embarrassing. Usually it involves a couple of rounds of rage cage.

Lastly, we asked the Activities Committee to answer some questions:

About this article

Written by:
  • Carlijn Otto
| Published on: Oct 23, 2018